Bountiful Basket

Every Saturday I drive up to the local park.  I always get there a bit early because I normally have work right after and then lunch with my hubby. The park is about 5-8 minutes away from my home, an easy drive and well worth the $15 I spent the previous Monday. 
 

Why did I spend $15 on Monday to go driving on Saturday?  Bountiful Basket

 

I have been doing this same routine for a few months now.  On Monday at noon I log into the website, look for my state, select a basket, look at what other wonderful items they have available this week, and then place my order. $15 well spent!

 
The first time I heard about BB I thought what is the difference between doing that or getting it from the store.  Everywhere I read said that it was well worth the money. So after talking things over with my husband we decided to try it for one week.  We have throw $15 away before lol so what could it hurt.  
 
It was great!  We went to pick up our basket and saw all the different things we got.  
 
Below is what Bountiful Basket says we might get in the basket.
 
On Bountiful Baskets website site, it states: 
 
How do I know what is in the Bountiful Basket?
Each week different items will be in the Bountiful Basket! We base the basket contents on what is in season, high quality, good value, and local. We generally have 6 fruit items & 6 vegetable items. We focus on what would be well received in our homes, and the extensive surveys we’ve done with participants over the past 5 years to know what families eat.
 
After we got home, I sat everything out on the counter. I hate that I did not take a photo but I did write down everything we got in that one basket.
 
We got:  Swiss chard, 4 green apples, 8 plums, 4 bell peppers, 2 mangos, celery, head of lettuce, 4 tomatoes, 4 huge baking potatoes, 1 bag of grapes, and 4 peaches.
 
So just to be sure I was getting my monies worth, I took that list with me on my shopping trip.  I  picked up the same size items that I had gotten, and if it was by the pound then I weighted how many I got in the basket and wrote down the price of everything that I had gotten. All in all, after adding everything up I had received $37.17 worth of fruit and veggies for $15. I could not believe it lol!
 
So of course I had to try again. The following week I did everything that same and that time after adding everything up I got $36.59 worth of food for $15! I was hooked!
 
Ever sense then I have been ordering a basket every week and I always keep an eye on the special stuff they offer for that week also.  It does seem to change sometimes and the price seems great for the special offerings, but I have of yet to order a special basket.  Below is what Bountiful Basket says about their special offerings.
 
What type of special offerings does Bountiful Baskets have?
Occasionally we will have the following! Be sure to participate each week so that you don’t miss out.
Produce By the Case: Utah Peaches, Citrus, Tomatoes, Pickling Cucumbers, Apples, Pears, Chiles, etc.
Bread Products: Sandwich Bread, Hamburger / Hotdog Buns,
Ciabatta, Chile Cheese, Cinnamon Raisin & Other Specialty Breads
Ethnic/Specialty Produce Packs: Italian, Asian, Mexican, Guacamole, Party Produce Pack (think Guacamole, Salsa, and things you dip in ranch!)
Pantry Items: Rice, Beans, Granola, Olive Oil, Canola Oil, All Natural Nut Butters
Decadent Deserts with 100% Butter, No hydrogenated oils or corn syrup
 
So I have been meaning to write this post and post a photo of one of my baskets. Well I picked up my basket today and took 2 photos. The first photo is at the park as we are looking over what we got for that week and the second photo is when we got home. I took 2 photos because we get so much food that I stop by and give my dad and step-mom some of it.
 
Image
 
Image 
I do hope that if Bountiful Basket it available in your area, that you will check it out! We love it!! 
 
BTW I did not get paid for this post in any way, just wanted to share my opinion of Bountiful Basket!!!!
 
Do you have something in your area like this? Do you shop with Bountiful Basket?
About Golden In The Valley

Just a girl married to an English Gentleman with 3 girls, 3 dogs, some fish, and some goats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bountiful Basket

  1. LFFL says:

    Lovely produce. How healthy for you!

  2. I love love LOVE Bountiful Basket! We just got it here in the Durango CO area a couple months ago. I was going to start one for Durango (the one that is running right now is in the next town over) but we have gotten a lot of issues with anyone wanting to give us a site. So I had to turn it over to someone else and after months we haven’t gotten anywhere 😦 It makes me so sad!

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anything like this before. Sounds like something a lot of families will love. I’m going to have to google around and see if we have something similar.

  4. Bonnie Frank says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I tweeted it out so all foodies everywhere can give it a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

